Response to Allyson’s I-Write Chapter 2

As I was reading Allyson’s post, she commented on some things from I-Write that I find myself in agreement with and also grappling with like she does in her post.

First of all, Allyson states, “Each student has their own strengths and weaknesses and even though we know a student has talent in a certain area, they may seriously be lacking the skills or even motivation to learn more about a different subject.”

This is something that unfortunately I see every day in the classroom.  It kind of reminds me of the saying “You can’t please everybody.”  However, I’m not trying to simple please my students.  I feel like a repeatedly run into brick walls that students seem to build around themselves because they CANNOT or WILL NOT do something because they simply DO NOT WANT to…  Where does the motivation come from in some students?  Why is that certain students lack motivation in everything?  How can a teacher with 35 students in the classroom motivate every single student with the assignment?  I know that these students thrive and revolve around technology, but I do not feel that incorporating technology is the exact answer; I don’t think it will fix everything 100%.  If a student just lacks the skills but is interested in learning, then I feel that as a teacher I can do my job and help them to learn.  However, if there is no motivation, what then?

Furthermore, Allyson goes on to state, “It’s interesting to me that the Westernized method of teaching students is all about independence. We are encouraged to be go getters, learn on our own, expand our knowledge because we WANT to.”  She seems to be right here as well.  The push is for classrooms to be more student-centered, meaning the teacher becomes more as just a facilitator.  This is going to be interesting because many teachers are going to have to learn to “back off.”  Teachers have been so concerned about test scores and making sure students have the “right answers.”  However, as we have been discussing not only in 7741 but in 7721, literacy is more open for interpretation; however, for this interpretation, you must be able to prove from within the text how you derived at that “answer.”  Teachers so often find it easier to simply just teach canonized texts and other readings with “their” interpretation as the answer.  However, where did these teachers get these “answers?” From their teachers.  However, I feel that by adding in other literacies other than canonized texts, students will begin to feel more comfortable with viewing, reading, analyzing, and evaluating the texts for themselves.

And finally, Allyson states, “However, it seems important that because of all of the information this new generation has being thrown at them, we have to find interesting things to grab their attention. One minute, it’s an email, the next, a text is pulling them away from their studies. It is constant.”  She is also right here.  This may be a solution to try to grab interesting things to students.  However, I do not think that all students will be motivated by this… They may be motivated by one thing, but then the next, they simply do not care once again.

About ajackson122

I am a high school English teacher and have been for the past five years. I enjoy teaching, coaching, traveling, reading, writing, and watching films.

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

